gaurdianAQ![]() Member Posts: 106 From: Registered: 01-15-2007 |
Hi Everybody I am back hey I need some help I need to install Direct X SDK can someone help me with this I am using Visual C++ Express that would be great thanks I really hope it does not involve reinstalling the whole thing because I followed this tutorial http://compsci.ca/v3/viewtopic.php?t=15817 but it does not appear to work |
Briant![]() Member Posts: 742 From: Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada Registered: 01-20-2001 |
What exactly is the problem? What does "it does not appear to work" mean specifically? Are you getting error messages during compile or linking, and if so, what do they say? ------------------ Check out this webhost! Fantastic prices, features and support! |
gaurdianAQ![]() Member Posts: 106 From: Registered: 01-15-2007 |
yes I am getting error messages 1>------ Build started: Project: Text3D, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------ 1>Text3D : warning PRJ0009 : Build log could not be opened for writing. 1>Make sure that the file is not open by another process and is not write-protected. 1>Text3D : error PRJ0007 : Could not create output directory 'c:\program files\microsoft directx sdk (april 2007)\samples\c++\direct3d\text3d\debug'. 1>Text3D : error PRJ0006 : Could not open the temporary file 'c:\Program Files\Microsoft DirectX SDK (April 2007)\Samples\C++\Direct3D\Text3D\Debug\RSP00000154405708.rsp'. Make sure the file exists and that the directory is not write-protected. 1>Text3D : error PRJ0006 : Could not open the temporary file 'c:\Program Files\Microsoft DirectX SDK (April 2007)\Samples\C++\Direct3D\Text3D\Debug\RSP00000254405708.rsp'. Make sure the file exists and that the directory is not write-protected. 1>Compiling... 1>Project : error PRJ0003 : Error spawning '/Od'. 1>Build log was saved at "file://c:\Program Files\Microsoft DirectX SDK (April 2007)\Samples\C++\Direct3D\Text3D\Debug\BuildLog.htm" 1>Text3D - 4 error(s), 1 warning(s) ========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ========== |
jestermax![]() Member Posts: 1064 From: Ontario, Canada Registered: 06-21-2006 |
If you're using the Express VS 2005 then you'll need to install the platform SDK as well i believe. It's a bit of a massive download too (full VS users don't have to worry about it) ------------------ |
gaurdianAQ![]() Member Posts: 106 From: Registered: 01-15-2007 |
I did download it |
HanClinto![]() Administrator Posts: 1828 From: Indiana Registered: 10-11-2004 |
Are you running as a user with administrator privileges, or a restricted access user? |
Briant![]() Member Posts: 742 From: Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada Registered: 01-20-2001 |
HanClinto's question is good - that will affect your building, because non-admins are not allowed to create/edit files in c:/program files. If this is the case, either get your account changed to have admin priviledges, or try copying the samples to a folder that you do have write access to. Of course, that's all assuming that after you installed DirectX, the folder "c:\program files\microsoft directx sdk (april 2007)\samples\c++\direct3d\text3d" exists in the first place. ------------------ Check out this webhost! Fantastic prices, features and support! |
gaurdianAQ![]() Member Posts: 106 From: Registered: 01-15-2007 |
I am the only person using this computer I am the admin I believe that the default account is admin correct? |
gaurdianAQ![]() Member Posts: 106 From: Registered: 01-15-2007 |
unless of course windows vista is being fussy |
jestermax![]() Member Posts: 1064 From: Ontario, Canada Registered: 06-21-2006 |
did you follow the tutorial too well? if you set up your project to use a path that only exists on the author's pc then that could make some waves. ------------------ |
gaurdianAQ![]() Member Posts: 106 From: Registered: 01-15-2007 |
what do you mean by my authors pc? |
Briant![]() Member Posts: 742 From: Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada Registered: 01-20-2001 |
In File Explorer, go to "c:\program files\microsoft directx sdk (april 2007)\samples\c++\direct3d\text3d" Try to create a text file in this folder. This will tell you if the folder exists, and if you have write permission in it. ------------------ Check out this webhost! Fantastic prices, features and support! |
gaurdianAQ![]() Member Posts: 106 From: Registered: 01-15-2007 |
well no it does not but there are no other accounts I know why it won't let me write to it its because it is set to read only and it won't let me change that I think windows vista is blocking it I was told that windows vista does not let you write inside program files....... I should take vista off maybe I wonder would the business version of vista let you change this I wonder |
Briant![]() Member Posts: 742 From: Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada Registered: 01-20-2001 |
Just copy the examples to a folder you CAN write to, and build that copy instead. ![]() ------------------ Check out this webhost! Fantastic prices, features and support! |
SSquared![]() Member Posts: 654 From: Pacific Northwest Registered: 03-22-2005 |
Don't even get me started...<wait while I take a deep breath. Slowwwwwwly in.....breath ooooouuuutttt>. I just don't get Vista. As a developer, where is one of the most logical places you will be moving your executables? To Program Files, huh? Well, for whatever reason, Vista makes it next to impossible to place files in the directory structure. Hence, one of the reasons I just had to turn UAC off. I couldn't even copy my own company's executables into our own Program Files directory. That is another option, which is what I did. Turn off User Access Control (UAC). But beware and understand the consequences of doing it. Unless I am doing something wrong or there is another way around it. If this was a wide-ranged issue, then developers would be complaning all over the place about this, but I haven't really read it as an issue. |
Briant![]() Member Posts: 742 From: Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada Registered: 01-20-2001 |
Hey ssquared, I feel your pain. Basically, it boils down to protecting C:\Program Files (and other system folders). Anything that gets put in C:\Program Files is supposed to get put there by an installer program (that has an embedded manifest file describing security requirements, and is authorized by the user to execute). Once the app is installed, the app should not do any writing (that the user doesn't need to see directly, such as settings, logfiles, whatever) in C:\Program Files, but in the Application Data folders (typically C:\Users\<username>\Application Data\<your company>\<your app name> for current user, or C:\Users\All Users\Application Data\<your company>\<your app name> for all users. Note that these folders are hidden by default.). For writing of files that the user DOES need to see (their data files created by using your app, etc.), they should go in an appropriate subfolder in My Documents (or Shared Documents). Whee! http://movies.apple.com/movies/us/apple/getamac/apple-getamac-security_480x376.mov ------------------ Check out this webhost! Fantastic prices, features and support! |
gaurdianAQ![]() Member Posts: 106 From: Registered: 01-15-2007 |
ok then how do I turn off UAC? I read about that but I don't know how to turn it off |
gaurdianAQ![]() Member Posts: 106 From: Registered: 01-15-2007 |
ok I got it working on some parts but apparently I am missing a header file which is not in any of the include directories the file is afxres.h if someone knows where I can get the file? |
SSquared![]() Member Posts: 654 From: Pacific Northwest Registered: 03-22-2005 |
Hmmmm. Afx files are used with the Microsoft Foundation Classes (MFC). The Express versions do not allow you to use MFC, so you will not have the header file available. Does DirectX require MFC? There is still time to get Visual Studio 2005 for $9.95. This will allow you to use MFC. Check out this thread: http://www.christiancoders.com/cgi-bin/ubb-cgi/postdisplay.cgi?forum=Forum7&topic=000153 |
Randall Member Posts: 44 From: Sacramento, California, USA Registered: 06-19-2007 |
quote: If I remember correctly, MFC and DIRECTX are two different Bananas. |
SSquared![]() Member Posts: 654 From: Pacific Northwest Registered: 03-22-2005 |
They are two different bananas but I was wondering if MS required the use of MFC in order to use DirectX. My suspicion is the DirectX examples (or the tutorial Guardian is using) use MFC, but DirectX itself does not require MFC. Guardian, you may need to find a different tutorial not requiring MFC. |
steveth45![]() Member Posts: 536 From: Eugene, OR, USA Registered: 08-10-2005 |
First of all, if the examples are using MFC, that's a bad sign. However, if you happen to have a registered copy of VS.NET 2k3 laying around, I believe you can use those header and lib files to get MFC running in VC++ Express 2k5. There's a chance that it will compile and run with Open Foundation Classes (Sourceforge), an open source partial implementation of MFC. ------------------ |