Your Announcements

SlimChat – lava

Lava
Member

Posts: 1905
From:
Registered: 01-26-2005

I have made a chat client called SlimChat in Blitz. I would appreciate any Beta testing.

Download here

Here are some screenshots:

------------------

[This message has been edited by lava (edited January 22, 2006).]

buddboy

Member

Posts: 2220
From: New Albany, Indiana, U.S.
Registered: 10-08-2004
hey sounds cool... do you mind if sometime i used it to make that thing i was talking about making sometime? the chat wars and the debate machine i mean...

oh and BTW i'm trying to test it not sure who to test it with... can't find anyone... if you want to i have a game set up the ip is 12.210.232.4

------------------
In the stock market, you must buy high and sell low...Wait! That's not right!
--------------
Yes, I can be intelligent at times!!

[This message has been edited by buddboy (edited January 22, 2006).]

Lava
Member

Posts: 1905
From:
Registered: 01-26-2005
Sure, in fact I thought you could learn from it, when I release the full version I will release the source code

Except the only problem is that you have had trouble with Blitz

------------------

[This message has been edited by lava (edited January 22, 2006).]

firemaker103

Member

Posts: 643
From:
Registered: 07-13-2005
might I recommend this if you ever want to go TCP(As an example)?
http://www.blitzbasic.com/codearcs/codearcs.php?code=1467

Yet, this could be good. It would have the same problems with pong online, though. (routers, firewalls)
------------------
"Be nice to the nerds because later on, you'll be working for them" - Bill Gates

[This message has been edited by firemaker103 (edited January 22, 2006).]

Lava
Member

Posts: 1905
From:
Registered: 01-26-2005
Hey thanks man

------------------

buddboy

Member

Posts: 2220
From: New Albany, Indiana, U.S.
Registered: 10-08-2004
hey lava... one thing, i'm not sure the search for game thing works... it just leaves it blank even when i know the game is there... oh and one thing, do you think you could post here when you are ready to test it with me if you want to... i can't find anyone to test it with...

------------------
In the stock market, you must buy high and sell low...Wait! That's not right!
--------------
Yes, I can be intelligent at times!!

Lava
Member

Posts: 1905
From:
Registered: 01-26-2005
I should have posted this as an update. Crazyishone tried testing it with me and it didn't work, so I am thinking (as he suggested), that if I had a server it would work. But we both have routers so there is no way to tell. Though it does work on great networks like in a router, as I have successfully tested it.

------------------

[This message has been edited by lava (edited January 22, 2006).]

buddboy

Member

Posts: 2220
From: New Albany, Indiana, U.S.
Registered: 10-08-2004
oh you have a router? it works if somebody without a router hosts it because my friend hosted it its just he has dialup and a slow pc so he can't run it for long and we never got to actually chat... i could join it tho... so any way, do you think i could have the source sometime soon? all i would need to do is set it up so that it makes you take turns and then rename it and i've got my thing... oh and how would i test it inside of a router?

------------------
In the stock market, you must buy high and sell low...Wait! That's not right!
--------------
Yes, I can be intelligent at times!!

[This message has been edited by buddboy (edited January 22, 2006).]

Lava
Member

Posts: 1905
From:
Registered: 01-26-2005
I will have the source very soon

If you have Win XP go on your Start menu and click on run, in run type in "command" after that loads, type in "ipconfig" and across from where it says "IP address" write that number down. When you open SlimChat and when it prompts you to choose a connection go to TCP/IP and type in the IP address in the slot click ok and where slot has you make a new game put in a name and click ok, have the other person do the same thing except when you put in the IP the other person can leave it blank and click enter, then they just have to wait for the game you named to show up on the list.

Remember the program doesn't refresh completely, so if you think someone has typed something press space and it should refresh what they say.

------------------

[This message has been edited by lava (edited January 22, 2006).]

Lava
Member

Posts: 1905
From:
Registered: 01-26-2005

Graphics 640,480,16,2
SetBuffer BackBuffer()

Print "Welcome to SlimChat Client"
Print ""
Print "Press Space to chat"
Print ""
Print "After you put in your name you will"
Print "prompted to choose a connection."
Print ""
name$=Input("What is your name? ")

newGame = StartNetGame()
If newGame = 0 Then
Print "Could not start or Chat."
ElseIf newGame = 1
Print "Successfully joined the Chat."
ElseIf newGame = 2
Print "A new Chat was started."
EndIf

playerID=CreateNetPlayer(name$)

Joined_Info$="Someone has joined the Chat"

If playerID > 0 Then
Print "Your PlayerID=" + playerID
SendNetMsg Rand(1,99),joined_info$,playerid,0
Else
Print "Couldn't join chat! Aborting!"
End If

While Not KeyHit(1)

If RecvNetMsg() Then
msgType=NetMsgType()
If msgType>0 And msgType<100 Then
msgFrom=NetMsgFrom()
msgData$=NetMsgData$()
Print "Person:" + msgData$
End If
End If

If KeyHit(57)
message$=Input$(name$+": ")
SendNetMsg Rand(1,99),message$,playerid,0
End If

Flip

Wend

End

------------------

buddboy

Member

Posts: 2220
From: New Albany, Indiana, U.S.
Registered: 10-08-2004
I AM SO STINKING TIRED OF BLITZ!! What did you code this in? For some reason my stinking demo always comes up with a stupid error that cannot be fixed. This time it says it's expecting an EndIf, and i changed nothing, other than the title. That's it! That's all!! If you coded it in a different thing, tell me please! What was it that you coded it in? I did it in Blitz Plus and i am seriously mad...

------------------
In the stock market, you must buy high and sell low...Wait! That's not right!
--------------
Yes, I can be intelligent at times!!

buddboy

Member

Posts: 2220
From: New Albany, Indiana, U.S.
Registered: 10-08-2004
oh, btw.. does it matter if you tab stuff over and such? or does it not matter? i mean, could you put everything on just one line and just keep going and it wouldn't matter? cuz that may be what is my problem...

------------------
In the stock market, you must buy high and sell low...Wait! That's not right!
--------------
Yes, I can be intelligent at times!!

Lava
Member

Posts: 1905
From:
Registered: 01-26-2005
I coded it in Blitz. Show me your source code and I might be able to help.

By the way, isn't C++ and all of those other languages senstive to mistakes too?

------------------

[This message has been edited by lava (edited January 22, 2006).]

buddboy

Member

Posts: 2220
From: New Albany, Indiana, U.S.
Registered: 10-08-2004
yah lol but... BlitzPlus gave/gives me the same stupid error over and over and no matter what i do it doesn't work... it said that it was expecting end-of-file when i had it there already... just ticks me off... this time it said expecting end-if...it makes me mad.. i'll show you some other time not on the right pc... and watching football game...

------------------
In the stock market, you must buy high and sell low...Wait! That's not right!
--------------
Yes, I can be intelligent at times!!

firemaker103

Member

Posts: 643
From:
Registered: 07-13-2005
Blitz somewhat understands one line. I wouldn't recommend it though.
Graphics 800,600,16,2 Print "wow, blitz uderstands this   " name$ = Input("So, what's you name?") Print "Nice to meet you " + name$  Print "Bye now" WaitKey

------------------
"Be nice to the nerds because later on, you'll be working for them" - Bill Gates

Gamer4Christ

Member

Posts: 551
From: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Registered: 07-19-2005
Yeah, as a programmer your job is to make the code readable, and understandable for anybody who reads it (unless... in the rare instance you want to make the code hard to read...) But writing it in one line not only makes it impossible for other people to read it, but it makes it near impossible for you to debug your code, because if any errors occured they would always be in the same line, which could be a mile long. The purpose of tabbing over is to make the code easier to read, it is just a good habit to get into.

------------------
~Current Project~
Kings Of Ethristah-
~.5% - 1% Complete

Lava
Member

Posts: 1905
From:
Registered: 01-26-2005
quote:
Originally posted by buddboy:
yah lol but... BlitzPlus gave/gives me the same stupid error over and over and no matter what i do it doesn't work... it said that it was expecting end-of-file when i had it there already... just ticks me off... this time it said expecting end-if...it makes me mad.. i'll show you some other time not on the right pc... and watching football game...


You just need to learn good error isolation techniques, which you will learn as you use Blitz more.

------------------

CPUFreak91

Member

Posts: 2337
From:
Registered: 02-01-2005
quote:
Originally posted by buddboy:
I AM SO STINKING TIRED OF BLITZ!!

Try Python or something... or howabout boo/mono or Java?
Too bad I can't run blitz under linux... however it may work under wine.

------------------
All Your Base Are Belong To Us!!! chown -r us ./base

``After three days without programming, life becomes meaningless.'' -- Tao of Programming Book 2

buddboy

Member

Posts: 2220
From: New Albany, Indiana, U.S.
Registered: 10-08-2004
well, i only use blitz on those rare occasions when i need it... i don't actually have the full version of any of their... editors, i guess they're called... and CPU, i am already trying to get C++ figured out... i tried python... i got just a little confused... a lot confused is more like it... if you wanted to help me i might be able to convince my dad to let me try it... i just need to figure a couple things out with it and i'll be fine... but i have to re-download it (with my dad's permission, which is hard to get) and then learn the language... not easy. so, i guess until i can get C++ figured out or Blitz working, i'm stuck. plus, i don't really want to use the demo of blitz, or pay for it.

------------------
In the stock market, you must buy high and sell low...Wait! That's not right!
--------------
Yes, I can be intelligent at times!!

Lava
Member

Posts: 1905
From:
Registered: 01-26-2005
Just so you guys know, I posted the source of Slimchat in the code archives in case anyone wants it.

------------------