Help Wanted

.ico files – ImpactMan

ImpactMan

Member

Posts: 25
From: California
Registered: 03-13-2006
Is there a certain pixel size to make .ico files? I read somewhere that I have to make them 48x48 pixels. But I just realized now that some people use different sizes such as 32x32 or 64x64. When the file is saved, it gets reduced to a certain size regardless what size I try to make them. Does it matter what size I make them in, or is there a recommended size?

------------------
-ImpactMan

buddboy

Member

Posts: 2220
From: New Albany, Indiana, U.S.
Registered: 10-08-2004
depends on... what you make them with, what you're using to put the icon on the file... the program i uses has a bunch of different required sizes...

------------------
In the stock market, you must buy high and sell low...Wait! That's not right!
--------------
Yes, I can be intelligent at times!!

HanClinto

Administrator

Posts: 1828
From: Indiana
Registered: 10-11-2004
A .ico file is often a collection of several different icon sizes, sortof like a collection of bitmaps at various color depths and resolutions. If you use an editor that handles icon files natively (such as Microsoft Visual C++ -- that's what I use, as it has a very nice icon editor), you can create all of the different sizes of icons that you need and save them all in the same file.

I hope that wasn't too vague -- if you need more help, just lemme' know.

--clint

buddboy

Member

Posts: 2220
From: New Albany, Indiana, U.S.
Registered: 10-08-2004
that's what i do... i do them with GIMP... and each layer is a different size....

------------------
In the stock market, you must buy high and sell low...Wait! That's not right!
--------------
Yes, I can be intelligent at times!!

goop2

Member

Posts: 1059
From:
Registered: 06-30-2004
I made some icons with Idraw3 once. I used 32x32. Dunno what they were in the end though.

------------------
------------------------
Its one of those... Goop... things...
hotmail: Grafitiware@hotmail.com
Yahoo: namerobbedagian

buddboy

Member

Posts: 2220
From: New Albany, Indiana, U.S.
Registered: 10-08-2004
Idraw3?

------------------
In the stock market, you must buy high and sell low...Wait! That's not right!
--------------
Yes, I can be intelligent at times!!

ImpactMan

Member

Posts: 25
From: California
Registered: 03-13-2006
Thanks. I didn't realize that .ico files could support layers.

So it doesn't matter what size I make them since they all end up the same size anyway? (Btw, I use GIMP to make them.)

------------------
-ImpactMan

Ashton_JX

Member

Posts: 156
From: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Registered: 02-21-2005
What? Gimp can make icon files? I didn't know that!
And er... Now I do!

------------------
1 Corinthians 15:58 So, my dear brothers and sisters, be strong and steady, always enthusiastic about the Lordís work, for you know that nothing you do for the Lord is ever useless. (NLT)

Tired of loosing your work for all eternity? Jesus Saves! You should too :P (liek every 1 1/2 seconds) This is a message from teh save the data foundation, and from (CTRL + S): Because da data is y00r future. Maybe.

buddboy

Member

Posts: 2220
From: New Albany, Indiana, U.S.
Registered: 10-08-2004
lol yes... i don't think they can support layers per se, they just use each layer as almost like a seperate image... lol... it confuses me too lol...

------------------
In the stock market, you must buy high and sell low...Wait! That's not right!
--------------
Yes, I can be intelligent at times!!