Help Wanted

Please take a look at the search.... – CPUFreak91

CPUFreak91

Member

Posts: 2337
From:
Registered: 02-01-2005
Please take a look at the search field on my website:
www.jqsoftware.com/testing/software.html

Do you know why when I click the Search or Submit buttons, nothing happens?

------------------
Learn How to Use Linux
Geek Your Vocabulary

My Email is:

Jari

Member

Posts: 1471
From: Helsinki, Finland
Registered: 03-11-2005
I can't see form tags anywhere in the source so that must be it.

------------------

Unless the LORD builds the house, they labor in vain who build it; unless the LORD keeps the city, the watchman stays awake in vain. - Psalms 127:1

And the work of righteousness shall be peace; and the effect of righteousness quietness and assurance for ever. - Isa 32:17

kiwee

Member

Posts: 578
From: oxfordshire, england
Registered: 04-17-2004
you need to put <form> and </form> either side of the google code for it to work

------------------
I Am God's Kid!!

CPUFreak91

Member

Posts: 2337
From:
Registered: 02-01-2005
I don't understand... tags?

------------------
Learn How to Use Linux
Geek Your Vocabulary

My Email is:

Jari

Member

Posts: 1471
From: Helsinki, Finland
Registered: 03-11-2005
html tags. Here's one page that explains form tags: http://www.w3schools.com/html/html_forms.asp

I hope it helps...

------------------

Unless the LORD builds the house, they labor in vain who build it; unless the LORD keeps the city, the watchman stays awake in vain. - Psalms 127:1

And the work of righteousness shall be peace; and the effect of righteousness quietness and assurance for ever. - Isa 32:17

cwc

Member

Posts: 121
From: USA
Registered: 07-30-2005
Hello CPUFreak, how are you doing buddy? Anyways lets get to the topic at hand and that has to do with your search engine you have going on there on your site. Ok I am not sure what you are doing but it looks like you are tring to create a search engine etc for your site. Is this what you are trying to do? Well if this is you are going to need a few things, You will need to have access to a serverside language like php or perl/cgi-bin etc and a database like mysql. I will be using php to explain here. Ok first this is your code for your search.

<form>
<input id="submit" name="submit" value="Search for" type="submit">
<input id="q" name="q" size="30" value="">
<input id="domains" name="domains"value="www.software.jqsoftware.com" type="hidden">
<input id="sitesearch" name="sitesearch" value="www.software.jqsoftware.com" type="hidden">
<input id="sourceid" name="sourceid" value="google-search"type="hidden">
</form>on www.software.jqsoftware.com

Html tags are things like <p></p> <head></head> <form></form> and so on
THere is always a open tag like <p> is open and there is always a closing tag that says this tag has ended like </p>. Notice the / in the closing tag? All closing tags have that. Ok enough about tags. Now on your search engine you have <form></form> html tag. in the open <form> tag you should have something like
<form action="ToYourPhpSearchScript.php" method="GET">

You see the action="ToYourPhpSearchScript.php"? Well this tells the browser where to go when you click the submit button. You see where I have method="GET" this tells it how I am sending the information. There are 2 diffrent types ther is GET and POST GET tranfers the information through the URL and that is ok to do with a search engin. login scripts etc you would use POST instead of GET cause POST is more secure.Ok enough about GET and POST. Ok to me I see alot of other stuff in your code that does not need to be there cause I am not sure what you are trying to do but a simple search engin form would go something like this.


<form action="ToYourPhpSearchScript.php" method="GET">
<input type="SUBMIT" value="Search for">
<input type="text" name="sitesearch">
</form>

This would in turn get submited to our searching script,
ToYourPhpSearchScript.php, that would GET the information that was enterd in the sitesearch <input> field and proccess the search.

Hope that helps you out some. If ya need anymore help just let me know.

God Bless You

[This message has been edited by cwc (edited July 31, 2005).]

cwc

Member

Posts: 121
From: USA
Registered: 07-30-2005
I do not know what I was thinking but I made a bobo, you see where I have
<form action="ToYourPhpSearchScript.php" POST="GET">

my bobo is here POST="GET" this should be method="GET" so..


<form action="ToYourPhpSearchScript.php" method="GET">

I think I was thinking to hard about GET and POST lol.

Anyways God bless You

CPUFreak91

Member

Posts: 2337
From:
Registered: 02-01-2005
Well that helps, but, I don't know PHP. However someone finally responded to my plea for help on Google Usenet and gave me a link... rat's can't find it!!
Oh well I'll play around with google.

------------------
Learn How to Use Linux
Geek Your Vocabulary

My Email is: