General Discussions

Web: http://www.blitzcoder.com – Angel

Angel

Member

Posts: 699
From: The Blissful State Of Me?
Registered: 05-21-2001
Web: http://www.blitzcoder.com is a link on your page. I was wandering if you run that web page as well? If so I might have more qustions... Tanks
Krylar

Administrator

Posts: 502
From: MD, USA
Registered: 03-05-2001
Hiya,

Yep, that's me.

-Krylar

------------------

Angel

Member

Posts: 699
From: The Blissful State Of Me?
Registered: 05-21-2001
I noted that not all the people there seem christian. Is that why non of the games that are there are posted here? Well I shouldnt say non but some I saw. I was just debaiting with myself whether or not that was a place worth chatting like here. Thanks for letting me know.
Krylar

Administrator

Posts: 502
From: MD, USA
Registered: 03-05-2001
Heya,

BlitzCoder is more of a general game programming site that is focused on Blitz Basic development. If you're looking to discuss game programming (regardless of whether it's Christian or secularistic) as it relates to Blitz Basic...that's what BlitzCoder is for.

Thanks!

-Krylar

------------------

Angel

Member

Posts: 699
From: The Blissful State Of Me?
Registered: 05-21-2001
I saw that Bliz has a terain 3D modole thing. I didnt know that, that enguin was cabuble of that. I thought all that it did was little games that used to be on Nintendo or Atri. Whats the best kinda game you could make with that thing. Could it do a Starcraft tipe game or something like that?

------------------
Peaza Cheez Mates!
Azariah "Angel"

Klumsy

Administrator

Posts: 1061
From: Port Angeles, WA, USA
Registered: 10-25-2001
you could do starcraft in visual basic...
starcraft as far as the graphcs engine is concerned is not technical wonder peices.. its just a lot of work getting all the graphcis premade..
not to mention the ai and gameplay...

i don't know blitz but i assume that you could do a starcraft game in it.. but if you were to do a game as good as starcraft then you'd prob want to use something better than a games programming language..

Karl

------------------
Karl Prosser
Karl / GODCENTRIC
Klumsy / Surprise ! Productions.
ME / Redeemed by the Living God :)
Klumsy@xtra.co.nz
May God Bless you, he sure does me.

Angel

Member

Posts: 699
From: The Blissful State Of Me?
Registered: 05-21-2001
I see... but dosnt the thing have its own AI code that you could work with or a plug in sistom? Many other ones have them. What im really trying to figure out is how some sisis can be so expensive when the only thing that seems to be better is all the auto funktions to me?

------------------
Peaza Cheez Mates!
Azariah "Angel"

Krylar

Administrator

Posts: 502
From: MD, USA
Registered: 03-05-2001
Hiya,

Blitz doesn't have any plug-in "games-specific" stuff. You have to do all the AI, logic, mechanics, multiplayer control, etc. by yourself. What it DOES do is give you all the tools to do that stuff. You don't have to worry about how to setup the graphics modes, or how to draw sprites, or spheres, or handle collisions, or how to open a socket and send and receive data over it.

In other words it's like somebody giving you a full toolset, shed, and a bunch of wood...then you have to take all the equipment and put together your woodworking project. Without Blitz you'd have to build the tools, build the shed, mill the wood...well, you get the idea

-Krylar

------------------

Angel

Member

Posts: 699
From: The Blissful State Of Me?
Registered: 05-21-2001
Oooo I see what you mean. So its not game spicific but its more tool spicific. You can make what you want but you have to use what they gave you. Thats still better then starting from scratch. Anyways that is what im gathering from it.

------------------
Peaza Cheez Mates!
Azariah "Angel"

Krylar

Administrator

Posts: 502
From: MD, USA
Registered: 03-05-2001
Purdy much, yep. I frankly can't imagine a game type I've ever seen that you couldn't use Blitz to develop. The only issue would be speed (although Blitz is pretty fast), but since Blitz now has DLL support, you can write all your speed-sensitive routines in another language anyway if really needed.

-Krylar

------------------

Klumsy

Administrator

Posts: 1061
From: Port Angeles, WA, USA
Registered: 10-25-2001
kryler, but what is its modulasation like?
how easy is it to maintian code on a very large project?
what is its use of memory like?

Karl

------------------
Karl Prosser
Karl / GODCENTRIC
Klumsy / Surprise ! Productions.
ME / Redeemed by the Living God :)
Klumsy@xtra.co.nz
May God Bless you, he sure does me.

Krylar

Administrator

Posts: 502
From: MD, USA
Registered: 03-05-2001
Hiya,

You can have various modules in different files that you call with the Blitz "Include" command. Large projects aren't bad at all, assuming you don't try to throw everything into one big file. But that's the same with all languages...at least for me.

So, really bad example. Say you have a file that displays the images called "showimages.bb":


Function ShowImages
DrawImage Image1, X, Y
DrawImage Image2, X, Y
DrawImage Image3, X, Y
etc...
End Function

Your main program, um..."main.bb" ...would go like this:


Include "showimages.bb"

Graphics 800,600
SetBuffer BackBuffer() ; setup for page flipping

While Not KeyHit(1) ; Escape
CLS ; clear the screen

ShowImages() ; call our ShowImages Function

Flip ; flip the buffers
Wend
End

And that's it.

Memory imprint I'm honestly not sure of. One thing I would say is that the language is marketed to the hobbyist/small dev company for hobbyist products and smaller commercial stuff. However, it's marketed to larger companies for prototyping.

-Krylar

------------------

c h i e f y

Member

Posts: 415
From: Surrey, United Kingdom
Registered: 03-07-2002
Angel : did you try blitzbasic out?

how does it compare to your "usual languages" ?

which languages do you normally program in?

------------------
hey, check out my motorcycler quiz dudes! (BB: 1 meg)

from www.vitology.com/chiefy/quiz.zip ..how tough can it be?