spade89![]() Member Posts: 561 From: houston,tx Registered: 11-28-2006 |
hey i want to try to develop a forum system liek this one in php, but i try they basic <? echo "hello www";?> kind of thing and i see it just as it is when i thest it, i installed apache2.2 and php for it. ------------------ Jesus answered, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. |
|
SSquared![]() Member Posts: 654 From: Pacific Northwest Registered: 03-22-2005 |
What do you mean you see it just like you test it? You mean you see the entire text (<? echo "hello www";?> ) and not just the PHP output? Have you followed the instructions to get Apache to recognize PHP? There are some config file updates you need to make. You need to have the appropriate PHP DLLs in the proper directory as well. It's been a year since I set up Apache/PHP/MySQL, so I'm a bit fuzzy. It took me two weekend nights (Saturday/Sunday) to get everything up and running and built a wimpy website which lets people create user accounts and log in. I think getting this type of system up and running, and writing web pages in this environment is a huge knoweldge boost. Learning the Administration side of things, security, web-based technologies, Database!!!! At least that's my opinion. I kept up with things for a few months, but it became difficult to maintain the constant updating of all three technologies. |
|
kenman![]() Member Posts: 518 From: Janesville WI Registered: 08-31-2006 |
Setting up PHP is easy in Linux, quite a pain in windows. Just recently set up an enviorment in both. There are advantages and disadvantages to both. Will keep an eye on this thread to see if I can helpp. | |
samw3![]() Member Posts: 542 From: Toccoa, GA, USA Registered: 08-15-2006 |
If you are working locally on your own windows box. Try xampp at www.apachefriends.org its has the latest builds and everything works out of box. Also (don't take this wrong, i'm just covering the bases) make sure your file has a .php not .html file extension. ------------------ |
|
Xian_Lee![]() Member Posts: 345 From: Registered: 03-15-2006 |
Another thing that you have to do when running PHP on your own machine, is be sure to open it through your localhost webserver. If you just double click a PHP file, it probably won't work. Also, if I'm not mistaken, depending on your version of PHP, you may need to be sure that you start with "<?php" instead of just "<?". It's possible, however, that that is just a recommended practice. Good ol' PHP. There's a lot of potential for PHP, but I find myself working with more broadly useful languages (specifically C++) lately. ------------------ |
|
spade89![]() Member Posts: 561 From: houston,tx Registered: 11-28-2006 |
i saved it in a .php and the installer i used was a microsoft installer. and i used the localhost webserver, i have 3 servers on my machine i am trying to use apache2.2(for php)and i am using tomcat(catalina) for jsp both on port 8080 so only one of them runs at one time,and i have sun java application server on port 80. i even configured some things in the configuration file. ------------------ Jesus answered, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. |
|
SSquared![]() Member Posts: 654 From: Pacific Northwest Registered: 03-22-2005 |
What happens when you go directly to the default "http://localhost" page? You should see a default Apache webpage. Unfortunately, I think it's the same default page whether you have Catalina running or an Apache server. But if you have this page showing, then you at least have the server ready and available. | |
spade89![]() Member Posts: 561 From: houston,tx Registered: 11-28-2006 |
i do i even put my own index.html running on the servers i have tested all the servers on html and they work just fine. the trouble is with php i tried a page similar to the following.
and i saved it in a .php file and i started mozilla and i put the file in the directories of all the 3 servers i have and i tried both http://localhost:8080 and http://localhost and they all show the same thing. the exact copy of the source. ------------------ Jesus answered, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. |
|
kenman![]() Member Posts: 518 From: Janesville WI Registered: 08-31-2006 |
Ok, check your task manager, do you have apache.exe running? If you do then apache is running. I have a similar set up on this windows machine. If you are not running xampp, then what is your setup? you need something to decode your php. You are seeing code because your php is not being processed |
|
spade89![]() Member Posts: 561 From: houston,tx Registered: 11-28-2006 |
what's xampp?? i can see httpd.exe running though . does anyone know what configurations exactly you have to do in the server or php config files? ------------------ Jesus answered, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. |
|
spade89![]() Member Posts: 561 From: houston,tx Registered: 11-28-2006 |
i somehow got it working now ![]() ------------------ Jesus answered, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. |
|
SSquared![]() Member Posts: 654 From: Pacific Northwest Registered: 03-22-2005 |
Excellent! Glad to hear. Now you should be on your way to PHP fun! | |
spade89![]() Member Posts: 561 From: houston,tx Registered: 11-28-2006 |
hey i'm having trouble downloading xampp is there another one like it?? ------------------ Jesus answered, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. |
|
spade89![]() Member Posts: 561 From: houston,tx Registered: 11-28-2006 |
never mind i think i'm having the lite version downloaded. ------------------ Jesus answered, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. |