General Development

Blitz Basic 2D – Matthias

Matthias

Member

Posts: 23
From: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Registered: 07-28-2004
How do I make a database file? I'm thinking up ideas for an RPG game to program but i need to be able to make databases to run it right.
CobraA1

Member

Posts: 926
From: MN
Registered: 02-19-2001
Try MySQL. The standard version uses the GPL license.

------------------
Reasoning with non-believers without encouraging them to read the Bible, I have found, is quite useless. God's word convinces - not our own reason.
--CobraA1

Switch Mayhem now available! Get it here
Codename: Roler - Writing object code and GUI.

Matthias

Member

Posts: 23
From: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Registered: 07-28-2004
you're sure? I mean i'm trying to use the OpenFile() function but it gives me errors. It should be in the blitz basic program right...?
Krylar

Administrator

Posts: 502
From: MD, USA
Registered: 03-05-2001
Hiya,

http://www.blitzcoder.com/articles.shtml

That has a ton of tutorials on it. Search through and you should be able to find information on files. Maybe not precisely what you need, but it should get you started.

Also, if you have the purchased version of Blitz, look at the Files section under help. There are some examples in there as well.

All the best,

-Krylar

------------------

Matthias

Member

Posts: 23
From: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Registered: 07-28-2004
I found a tutorial and downloaded the companion files for it. Guess what. It works now! Took me some experimenting but i got it down! Thanks for your help, guys.
Matthias

Member

Posts: 23
From: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Registered: 07-28-2004
Oaky, I got a new problem... sorry!
Goes like this, I've got two if statements in a row that check to see if the mouse is on top of an image AND clicked, then does something. They both go "If ImagesOverlap(MouseImg,arrowx,arrowy,Picture,picx,picy) And MouseHit(1) Then" , but the second statement doesn't seem to be used at all.

Hold on, I just got an idea! Okay, I got it working, but I'll tell ya what I did.

Each time my program went throuh the first If, it reads the mouse record and deletes the stuff there, so whether it's true or false, there is no longer any recorded button press for the second one.

My solution was, I separated the statements by nesting 2 if's together so for each one I first checked if the images were overlapping, then if the button was pressed.

Sorry guys, I got it myself, but that's okay.